Laboratory specialized in animal feed resources for tropical countries

Specialized in tropical countries, the SELMET animal nutrition laboratory conducts research on conventional and alternative feed resources and offers animal production actors the capacity to determine the nutritive value of feed resources and raw materials.

The laboratory analyzes feedstuffs, contributes to solving questions regarding animal nutrition and diet formulation, and participates in the implementation of research protocols. It is part of a collaborative network enabling it to redirect specific requests towards French and foreign technical and scientific partners.

In so doing, the laboratory contributes to knowledge of feed and variations in their nutritional value, as well as to the quality control of ingredients.

Near Infrared Spectroscopy (NIRS)

The animal nutrition laboratory uses Near Infrared Spectroscopy (NIRS) to estimate feed chemical composition and in vitro digestibility, an alternative to more conventional, expensive and pollutants methods (i.e. chemicals). This technique is based on the principle of absorption (by organic matter elements) of infrared rays, absorption capacity being linked to the chemical composition of feed samples. NIRS has a large number of applications in the industrial sector (chemistry, pharmacy, agro-industries). However, SELMET essentially uses this technique to estimate the chemical composition of feed, forage and feces (studies of digestibility).

Cookies de suivi acceptés

Laboratoire spécialisé dans l’alimentation animale pour les pays tropicaux

Spécialiste des pays tropicaux, le laboratoire d’alimentation animale conduit des recherches sur les ressources alimentaires et offre une prestation accessible aux acteurs des productions animales pour la connaissance de la valeur nutritive de leurs matières premières.

Le laboratoire pratique des analyses d’aliments, répond aux questions de nutrition, la formulation, et participe à la mise en place de protocoles de recherche et d’expérimentation. Il dispose d’un réseau de collaboration permettant d’aiguiller des demandes spécifiques vers des partenaires techniques et scientifiques français ou étrangers.

Il contribue ainsi à la connaissance des aliments et des variations de leur valeur nutritive et au contrôle de la qualité des aliments composés.

La spectroscopie dans le proche infrarouge (SPIR)

D'autre part, le laboratoire d'alimentation animale utilise la Spectroscopie dans le proche infrarouge (SPIR). Il s'agit d'une technique analytique basée sur le principe d'absorption des rayonnements (infrarouges) par la matière organique. Cette absorption étant liée à la composition chimique des échantillons, on peut estimer cette dernière par la simple mesure de l'absorption de lumière par l'échantillon. La SPIR a un grand nombre d'applications dans le domaine industriel (chimie, pharmacie, agro-industries). Au Cirad, elle est utilisée essentiellement pour estimer la composition chimique d'échantilons d'aliments, de fourrages ou de fèces (études de digestibilité).

Cookies de suivi acceptés